Day 6 of Healthy LIFE Journey

Back to the gym today!  Loving it!!  It was a busy morning at 24 Hour Fitness!  We almost didn’t find a parking space!  I love how they have the KIDS CLUB, where members can leave their kids while they work out!  It’s very convenient.  So, all my favorite elliptical machines were taken up.  Disappointing but everything in life happens for a reason.  Maybe the arms and shoulders needed a rest!  I’m having to kind of “baby” my left knee a little.  All the years of being heavy and abusing my body with work, has taken a toll.  So, my left knee tries to buckle a little every once in a while.  It’s just something I have to be aware of, so not to injure myself.  An injury could prevent me from making the progress I am wanting.  I have a bet with my mate, once I lose 50 pounds, I can get a new tattoo.  Already know what it’s going to be.  So, I’m looking to get it in September if not sooner.  The shop I go to, the Black Pearl Tattoo Parlor, in Houston, Texas is great! Mr. Miike (yes with two I’s) is the BEST!  He’s already done two for me.  It may not work for everyone, but for me having a goal and a reward at the end of that goal works wonders for keeping me motivated!  So, I did my 30 minutes on the elliptical with no moving arm handles.  To compensate, I tried to do as much as I could without holding onto the side arms for support.  It gives you a better workout if you don’t use the non-moving handle bars to support yourself.  If you can do it without holding on, you get a better core workout and it helps to build your balance.  It’s funny, most people would think the high inclines are the worst, but I have the hardest time on the lowest level, when the elliptical is almost flat!  It’s hard!  I breezed through the 30 minutes on the machine, like nothing.  I still burned 315 calories without the moving arms and traveled 2.05 miles.  I’m planning to start adding to my routine tomorrow.  Starting first with stomach crunches, I believe!  See y’all tomorrow!!  Have a happy, healthy, day!!

~ by destiny2b on March 21, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
