Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo

March 9, 2011 I went to the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo.  I hadn’t been since I was a teenager and lived in Houston, Texas!  I remember going when Garth Brooks first came out, boy did he put on a good show!  If you happen to read this Garth,  I LOVE YOU!!  As in your music and your spirit and strength of character, you are an all around good guy!!  And I saw George Strait, one of the GREATEST to ever come along!!!  And I ALMOST saw the Highwaymen (Johnny, Waylon, Willie and Kris).  They are ALL legends!  I had bought the tickets to go with my mom, but my mom being who she is, waited until we got in our seats and decided she was ready to go home!  How I wish at that time I had been as strong as I am now, because I would have stayed!  Anyhow, I don’t remember who I went with the other two times, but it was great!  Nevertheless, it had been about twenty years since I had been!  I just recently moved back to Texas.  I wasn’t real sure I was going to be able to go, being that we decided to go on this adventure of business ownership!  Quitting our jobs and living on our retirement fund, I didn’t really think it was a good idea to just spend that kind of money for one day of fun!  Well, all things being what they are, I suppose positive thinking has a way of working out!  Because for some reason, we had woke up late on March 9th and were slow to motivate.  We went down to have breakfast at this little diner and the waitress mentioned one of the patrons was selling her Rodeo tickets.  Well, my mate went over to talk to her and sure enough she had tickets for that day and they were a “steal”!  It was like fate had played its hand!  You know what they say about looking a gift horse in the mouth!  So, we bought the tickets, and the best part was it was a value Wednesday, so the parking was only $5.  Well, being that I hadn’t been since I was a teen and the Reliant stadium is new, it was like I had NEVER been.  And my mate, had never been so it was very exciting.  I didn’t realize that the money all went to provide scholarships and how educational it all was!  I was in HEAVEN!  Being someone who dreams of owning a ranch and a bunch of critters, this was the best time ever.  I got to see baby pigs, cows, goats and the smiles of pride on the FFA students as they were walking their cattle, sheep and goats to be judged, just filled my heart with pride for them.  There was so much to buy, but not so much that it was overwhelming.  The food was not only good, but the selection was great.  You could eat just about as healthy or NOT as you want.  My mate and I were there from noon until after Martina McBride sang and we ate ribs, funnel cake (shared) and fresh-cut french fries!  None of which I have to say was greasy or over seasoned.  Which means I did not suffer from the “day after” stomach!  Martina McBride is one of those famous people who you feel like you could just sit around and drink ice tea (or beer) with.  Her beautiful soul illuminates and she is just so talented!  We had so much fun that next year we are hoping to go more than once and hoping by 2013 to be signed up to volunteer at the Rodeo.  We would consider it for next year, but at this time, not sure about paying the dues.  And finally my favorite part(s) have to be the Mutton busting and the Cattle round-up!  It’s great that they get this young kids involved and make them feel like winners!  And it’s great fun for the older ones of us to watch.  I have to say, if they would have let me, I would have chased a calf around.  Just kidding, those calf’s are stubborn!  So, if you ever find yourself in Houston, Texas from March 1-20th, you must take the time to go to the Rodeo!  It will be an experience you won’t forget.

~ by destiny2b on March 11, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
